My Partner in Crime

Posted: 12/23/2010 in Uncategorized

The man, the myth, the legend

Allow me to introduce… Dwayne Whitman, my partner in crime. He also serves as father-in-law, boss, and friend. Ive know the guy since 1999, when I first met my wife. We always got along, but due to the fact that I lived 120 miles from him, we never got really close. Flash forward to last year, when we found ourselves living just a mere 7 miles away from him. That, compounded by the fact that I am laid off, we soon started spending time together.

Our bromance began with mowing lawns, and doing property maintenance. This helped pass the summer months by, put a few bucks in my pocket, and allowed us to become good friends. As fall approached, we concocted the idea of me getting a plow truck. You see, he has plowed snow for 30 years. Due to the fact that he drives a school bus, and he is (was) a one-man-show, he was going to give up some nice accounts due to time constraints. Thus, we began dreaming of what it would be like to have a plow truck for me, to go into business with him for the winter. BOOM! One month later… I have a plow truck. And the rest is history. Awwwwww

Sometimes I make up an excuse to go over to his house. “Honey, I need to swap out an alternator on the truck”, or “Baby, we have to mess with our scrap pile (see earlier post)”. Sometimes, he makes up weak excuses, so we can waste away the hours tinkering on our trucks. We actually like working on our trucks. When you have old plow trucks like we do, there seems to always be something that needs fixing. Man, do we need a garage!

Looking forward, we have some other ideas we would like to explore, as well as some ideas of my own (Mom – Im talking about you:)). Perhaps if these ideas come full circle, I will have some other interesting tid bits to further enlighten you on. Until then, I will keep praying for snow… at least 2 inches at a time!!!

Leave a Reply

