Insomnia

Posted: 10/26/2010 in Uncategorized

I need more of this

I have a memory problem I’d like to share. Its not the short term variety, more of a long term thing. From as I can remember, this issue has been there. It has nothing to do with an accident, or eating glue, I suppose this is the way God made me.

A few days ago, I was tooling around Dwaynes house, and came across a copy of Stephen King’s Insomnia. I recall I read it about 15 years ago, but I couldn’t remember a single thing about it. Strange I thought, at around a thousand pages, you would think that I would remember at least something about it. I flipped around the pages a bit, and nothing. Zip. It all looked strange to me, as if I never read it at all.

More examples you say? Ok. I graduated High School in 1994 (East Kentwood High, Kentwood MI). I can only recall the name of one of my teachers, Mr. West, Human Anatomy and Physiology in my Senior year – and I wouldn’t recognize him if he walked in my front door right now. You could pile all my teachers I had in my living room right now, and they would all look like strangers. I know, I ran into my HS counselor a few years removed, and I didn’t recognize her. Four years at that school, and I cant remember any of it. For the record, I did not use drugs or alcohol in High School. I saved that for a bit later.

Flash to sometime in 1998? I was in a public bathroom doing the usual, when some guy seemed surprised, and excited to see me. Uhhh oh hi!! I said, wondering who the heck this dude is. It’s me Scott… from spanish class!!! . Mind you, I was only a few years departed from that class, and i only remotely recognized his face. I remember him, how we has some laughs, but only 1 real clear memory of an interaction in class, and even then, his face is a bit blurry. Its like trying to remember a dream you had a few days ago. You cant remember much, just a few things. Faces fuzzy, names not there. Its a bit frustrating.

Its not a total black out, I do good at crossword puzzles, work well on cars, so apparently some things stick to the wall. But the window of “remembrance” is about the 4 or 5 year mark. Events that are more recent, I can remember, but the timelines are all mixed up. For example, did Linsey (my 6 year old) lose her last tooth 2 weeks ago? or 6? Did I last go to the movies 6 months ago? or 2 years ago? Even my 11 year old daughter brings stuff up I am having a hard time remembering. Cant think of a specific example of that off hand.

I really should see if there is something I can do to improve it. Maybe some ginkgo biloba would help out. Now that I think about it, I am going into the doctors tomorrow for routine stuff. Perhaps I will run this problem by him, if I remember.

Comments
  1. Rainey Manning says:

    “For the record, I did not use drugs or alcohol in High School. I saved that for a bit later.”

    Your right, you do have a memory problem!! Donkey Kong Country should bring back memories. Remember mom found two of our bowls? And we told her we were holding on to them for a friend? Ah, good times.

Leave a Reply

