Vanity.. more than a feelin’

Posted: 06/03/2010 in Uncategorized

Ahh.. Vanity. It has been said many times, Vanity is the sin from which all others arise. The excessive love of ones self, a need, or desire to be more attractive than others. It is a problem I think everyone has, one that we all cannot help but fall into.

There are behaviors, that in them selves only become sinful when abused. For example, having a glass of wine at a Passover dinner is not sinful, but abusing alcohol to the point of being a drunkard is. Sex is not a sin within the bounds of a marriage, raising your voice in a crowded basketball game is not the same as yelling at your kids.

The Bowl Cut... Its comin back!!!!

Vanity does not enjoy leeway like that. I caught myself gazing into the mirror this morning, and realized I was filling with pride over my new bowl cut. Yes, I have a bowl cut. My wife and I carefully sculpted my hair into the something wonderful. I’m on the cusp of fashion supremacy, riding the edge of the newest rebirth of cutting edge beauty. How can looking so good, be so bad? The love of myself…. I never thought I would ever admit to this. I would venture to think we all struggle with something like this. Do we not all look in the mirror before leaving the house? What normal woman doesn’t apply make up before a big date? If you think about it, even showering is a form of vanity. I mean, we could get by just fine showering once a week or so.

Scouring the scriptures for something to justify being intoxicated by my sex appeal, I find nothing good being associated with being vain. Being vain, is simply being prideful. And the prideful take big hits in the Bible.

For all that is in the world – the lust of the flesh, the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life – is not of the Father but is of the world. 1John 2:16

Technically, my hair is not my flesh. However, the lust of my eyes after my hair is undeniable. As I grow the top of my hair out, in order to fully get the “bowl” look, am I growing in sin as well? You see, I don’t think my problem will go much past my scalp. I have no chiseled abs, no bulging pects, not that i’m unhealthy. I just like my new haircut. Being a stud can be confusing.

How do I reconcile this? I haven’t actually hurt anybody, but I feel like I have caused my neighbor to sin. As I was talking to him yesterday, I could see his eyes fill with envy as he could not stop gazing at my head. I must do something, take an action to begin to be less prideful. What if I wear no deodorant to even out my pride? I would smell bad, but look fabulous! I thought earlier today, perhaps I should cut it all off. Just shave away my sin. Somehow, I don’t think that is the, er, root of the problem.

Comments
  1. Ruth says:

    Yes, men do have instructions about their hair in the bible. But seeking out those
    words of truth are up to each and every man. Some times I think it is a matter of
    being very vain when we have so lack of knowledge. Think of it this way. If you
    had 5 sons to be a witness to, how would they learn from their father’s various
    hair cuts as their father mature’s in his manhood, being a servant to HaShem, his
    Heavenly Father? Everything we own, which is our hair, remember Samson, belongs to
    our Heavenly Father. If we cut our hair, it says much. Loveruth

  2. Amber says:

    “Intoxicated by your sex appeal”? Please elaborate

Leave a Reply

